Colorado Trout Unlimited Staff

nickum head shot circle.jpg

David Nickum

Executive Director

dnickum@tu.org

Untitled-2.png

Shannon Kindle

Development Director

skindle@tu.org

 

+ David's BIO

David coordinates state-level TU conservation efforts on issues ranging from whirling disease to water quality protection. Under his leadership, Colorado TU has successfully reformed state whirling disease policy, secured passage of legislation strengthening Colorado's in-stream flow program, and conducted many on-the-ground restoration projects for stream habitat and native trout recovery. He is the author of Whirling Disease in the United States, a TU report summarizing the state of the science on whirling disease, and co-author of Saving A Stream, a primer on how to conduct coldwater habitat improvement projects. David holds a BA in Public Policy from Duke University. He enjoys fishing in the Rocky Mountain National Park area and hiking and camping in Colorado’s high country with his wife and two children.

+ Shannon's BIO

Shannon has a deep love of rivers and enjoys rafting, hiking, and gardening. She lives in Golden with her husband, Aaron, son, Amory, and daughter, Graysa.

 
Jen-Boulton-135x150.png

Jen Boulton

Legislative LIAISON

jenboulton1@aol.com

Dan-Omasta-204x138.png

Dan Omasta

Grassroots Coordinator

DOmasta@tu.org

 

+ Jen's BIO

Since 2003, Jen has served as the legislative liaison for Colorado TU and Audubon Colorado at the Colorado General Assembly. She has helped secure passage of legislation expanding funding for wildlife habitat protection, prohibiting homeowner covenants that require water-intensive landscaping, and enabling water right holders to make emergency loans for water for in-stream flow purposes. She is also an accomplished horseback rider.

+ Dan's BIO

Dan graduated from the University of Colorado with a political science degree focused on land management and environmental policy. Before joining TU, he lived in the Gunnison Valley and worked in various areas of the ski industry, as a fishing and rafting guide, property manager, and founded his own non-profit organization in 2013, River Restoration Adventures for Tomorrow (RRAFT)- a small river outfitter dedicated to protecting critical watersheds through community engagement and hands-on restoration work. Dan started working with CTU in February of 2017 and continues to support chapters with various projects, as well as coordinates statewide campaigns related to public lands and native trout restoration.

 
24130318_10213000140455528_8358517238652612805_o.png

Andrea Smith

Communications & Membership Coordinator

andrea.smith@tu.org

 

+ Andrea's BIO

Andrea (Annie) Smith is a graduate of the University of Colorado, Boulder with a Bachelor of Arts and Science in Environmental Studies and a minor in Geology. She has been working 4+ with various non-profits including the Greenwood Wildlife Rehabilitation Center, Girl Scouts of Colorado, and the Inland Ocean Coalition. She is passionate about telling stories in creative ways through video, photography, art, digital graphics, or a combination of both. She is excited to grow the online presence of Colorado Trout Unlimited and design campaigns to inspire new and renewing members. She comes from a family of fishermen and women, but still has yet to catch the fishing bug. So any fly fishing tips or lessons are welcome!

 

TU National Staff in Colorado

Colorado Abandoned Mines Project

Lauren Duncan, Mine Restoration Project Manager, lduncan@tu.org

Jason Willis, Mine Restoration Project Manager, jwillis@tu.org

Colorado Water Project

Drew Peternell, Director, dpeternell@tu.org

Cary Denison, Project Coordinator, Gunnison Basin, cdenison@tu.org

Kaitlyn Vaux, Project Coordinator, Yampa/White River Basin, kvaux@tu.org

Aaron True, Project Manager, White River Basin, atrue@tu.org

Jesse Kruthaupt, Project Coordinator, Gunnison Basin, jkruthaupt@tu.org

Kevin Terry, Project Coordinator, Rio Grande Basin, kterry@tu.org

Richard Van Gytenbeek, Colorado River Organizer, r.vangytenbeek@tu.org

Mely Whiting, Legal Counsel, mwhiting@tu.org

Sportsman’s Conservation Project

Steve Kandell, Director, skandell@tu.org

Ty Churchwell, Backcountry Coordinator, tchurchwell@tu.org

Garrett Hanks, Southwest Colorado Field Coordinators, ghanks@tu.org

Communications

Randy Scholfield, Southwest Region Communications Director, rscholfield@tu.org

Josh Duplechian, Senior Producer, jduplechian@tu.org

Development/ Fundraising

Chris Herrman, Southwest Region Development Directorm, cherrman@tu.org

TU Costa Five Rivers Program

Andrew Loffredo, TU Costa 5 Rivers College Program Coordinator, aloffredo@tu.org