Contact Us Newsletter Signup

Youth Conservation

Trout In the Classroom

 

Trout in the Classroom (TIC) is a conservation-oriented, environmental education program for middle and high school students. Through the school year, students:

  • Raise trout from eggs to fry;
  • Monitor tank water quality;
  • Engage in stream habitat study;
  • Learn to appreciate water resources;
  • Begin to foster a conservation ethic; and
  • Grow to understand ecosystems.

Most programs end the year by releasing their trout in a state-approved stream near the school or within a nearby watershed.

During the year each teacher tailors the program to fit his or her curricular needs. Therefore, each program is unique. TIC has interdisciplinary applications in science, social studies, mathematics, language arts, fine arts and physical education.

         

Participating CO Schools for 2012-2013

Centaurus High School
10300 South Boulder Road
Lafayette, CO 80026

Teacher: Eric Mattys, Eric.Mattys@bvsd.org
TU contacts: Dean Lippold deanlippold@PSUalum.org, or Larry Quilling larry.quilling@seagate.com

Thompson Valley High School
1669 Eagle Drive
Loveland, CO 80537

Teacher: Tom Hewson, hewsonfish@hotmail.com
TU contact: Sharon Lance stlance@comcast.net

Woodland Park High School
151 North Baldwin Street
Woodland Park, CO 80863

Teacher: Lauren Martin, khovel@wpsdk12.org
TU contact: Allyn Kratz, allynk@comcast.net or Sam Humpert, sam_humpert@yahoo.com

Summit High School
16201 Highway 9
Breckenridge, CO 80424

Teacher: Christopher Lambrecht, ChristopherLambrecht@yahoo.com
TU contact: Sarah Barclay, sbarclay@slifersummit.com

Front Range Community College
4616 S Shields St
Fort Collins, CO 80526

Teacher: Heather Dannahower, Heather.Dannahower@frontrange.edu
TU Contact: Dennis Cook, kymtnangler@q.com

Rocky Mountain High School
1300 W Swallow Rd
Fort Collins, CO 80526

Teacher: Scott Kemp, skemp@psdschools.org
TU Contact: Dennis Cook, kymtnangler@q.com

Denver Center for International Studies
574 West Sixth Avenue
Denver, CO 80204

Teacher: Frank Pomponio, frank_pomponio@dpsk12.org
TU Contact: Cory Stansbury, cory@thecory.com or Noah Albrecht, noah.r.albrecht@gmail.com

If you are interested in learning more about TIC in Colorado, please drop us a line using the form at the bottom of the page. More general information is available at Trout Unlimited’s TIC website.